Established in 2005, Fairtrade Africa is a member based not for profit organisation representing all Fairtrade certified producers in Africa and the Middle East and is a member of Fairtrade International. Currently, the organisation represents over 1,050,000 farmers and workers across 33 countries in Africa and the Middle East who are organised into 500
producer organisations as Fairtrade only certify and support organised groups.

The producer organisations are certified against the Fairtrade Standards for traditional export commodities such as coffee, cocoa, tea, cotton, bananas, mango and non-traditional commodities including shea butter and rooibos tea. Fairtrade Africa has its headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya and operates four regional networks: Eastern & Central Africa Network (FTAECAN) based in Nairobi, Kenya; West Africa Network (FTA-WAN) based in Accra, Ghana and Southern Africa Network (FTA-SAN) based in Cape Town, South Africa. The Middle East & North Africa Network (FTA MENA) is managed primarily through partnerships.

Fairtrade is an alternative approach to conventional trade based on a partnership between producers and traders, businesses and consumers.

The international Fairtrade system represents the world’s largest and most recognised fair trade system with a Theory of Change of making trade fair, empowerment and sustainable livelihoods.