The Smith-Appleby House Museum began as a one-room stone-ender with a loft above. It was built (circa 1696) by Elisha Smith, the grandson of John Smith “The Miller”, cartographer of the NE coastline and a member of Roger William’s original party of six men who left the Massachusetts Bay Colony to settle in Providence. The size of the house was doubled when a two-room (circa 1730) was brought to the site, and attached to the original house. Other additions and modifications were made over the years to accommodate the family. The last addition was made (circa 1813), when a new modern kitchen with beehive oven was added, bringing the house to its present twelve rooms with varied designs and original stencils. The Smith-Appleby House Museum is on the National Register of Historic Places.
The forty acres of land granted to John Smith by Roger Williams increased to over 700 acres during Elisha’s lifetime. It has dwindled to the present seven acres now owned by the Historical Society of Smithfield. Over the years, the House's farmlands, woodlands and orchards have been the site of a grist mill, a saw mill and a blacksmith shop. This delicately restored and furnished farm house features beautiful cabinet work and an intriguing antique collection and is currently used as the Historical Society headquarters. A unique feature is the smoke room on the second floor, serviced by the huge fireplace in the keeping room.
Smith-Appleby House Museum is open for tours during scheduled events, or tours may be arranged on request.