Reach for the Stars ~ National Rocket Competition -

Our goal is to give kids the unique educational experience of building and lunching their own solid-fuel powered rocket.  
Our purpose is to foster an interest in model rocketry, STEM subjects and aeronautics.
Our mission is to keep alive the memory of the first Teacher-in-Space, Christa McAuliffe.

The Reach for the Stars ~ National Rocket Competition
     Annual event since 2006
     Run at your location
     No travel expense
     Ages 10 to 18
     Easy to run spot-landing Competition
     Closest to a target wins
     Features the same rockets used by Scouts, 4-H and Civil Air Patrol
                    A scout troop, 4-H group or CAP squadron can qualify for advancement while competing in the RFTS national Competition
     Works to train and recruit kids for more advanced rocketry events
                    i.e. the National Association of Rocketry’s -Team America Rocketry Challenge (TARC) and NASA’s - Student Launch Initiative.
     Is well recognized and highly recommended
                   See below
     Hosted by several Challenger Learning Centers, the National Space Society, Florida Association of Science Teachers,  G-WIZ Science Museum, Colorado Springs Rocket Society (COSROCS) and many others
     Is affordable – $25 per contestant (2021 pricing)
                  Includes rocket kit, supplies for 2 launches, certificate and Competition entry
     National Winners celebrate at Space Camp / U.S. Space & Rocket Center
     Excites kids (and adults) about STEM subjects and aeronautics
                     To see pictures go to www.RocketCompetition.com    click on “Photos”
     Honors the memory of the first Teacher-in-Space, Christa McAuliffe
                  Everyone involved receives a certificate bearing one of Christa’s quotes
                  Certificates are professionally printed and ready for framing.

RFTS national winners have celebrated with famed author Homer Hickam at Space Camp at the U.S. Space & Rocket Center in Huntsville, Alabama under an "October Sky" and with Astronaut Jon McBride at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex / Astronaut Hall of Fame.  
                     We promise the national winners – “memories to last a lifetime and bragging rights for generations to come.”

For more details and a PowerPoint presentation go to www.RocketCompetition.com         click on “Competition Info”

Wishing you light winds on launch day.
Jack & Kathy Colpas, co-directors
Helping Kids Reach for the Stars / Reach for the Stars ~ National Rocket Competition
STEM - Educational Outreach (Science, Technology, Engineering & Math)
www.RocketCompetition.com    RocketCompetition@gmail.com
Phone (941) 955-3958  /  Fax (206) 350-7880

Helping Kids Reach for the Stars is recognized by: Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex, Astronaut Hall of Fame, Space Camp - U.S. Space & Rocket Center, Florida Association of Science Teachers (FAST), Kennedy Space Center - Educator Resource Center, National Girls Collaborative Project, the Florida Space Grant Consortium (FSGC), American Institute of Aeronautics & Astronautics (AIAA), National Space Society (NSS), South Eastern Consortium for Minorities in Engineering(SECME), Florida League of Middle Schools (FLMS), Florida Engineering Education Conference (FEEC), Florida Space Research Institute (FSRI), Southwest Florida Girl Scout Council, YMCA of Central Florida, Tampa Tripoli Rocket Association, the Private School Consultancy (PSC) and many public school systems.

We are recommended by;  *Astronaut Bill Readdy, former Chairman of the Board / Challenger Learning Centers   *Astronaut Alan Bean, Moonwalker & Artist   *Astronaut Bob Cabana / Director Kennedy Space Center   *Astronaut - Senator Bill Nelson   *Astronaut Jon McBride    *Astronaut Jerry Ross *Astronaut Story Musgrave   *Astronaut Tom Jones   *Astronaut Mark Lee   *Astronaut Marcos Pontes   *Ray Griffin & Mary Liscombe, former Directors / Christa McAuliffe Center   *Grace Corrigan - Christa McAuliffe's mother   *Susan Borland, Education Director - Challenger Center for Space Science Education – Tallahassee    *Ann Grimm, Educational Services Coordinator retired / Estes Educator   *Author Homer Hickam (Rocket Boys, October Sky) and the Original Rocket Boys  *Dr. Warren Layfield, Education Director & TARC Mentor / Colorado Springs Rocket Society (COSROCS)   *Dr. Jaydeep Mukherjee & Sreela Mallick, Directors / NASA Florida Space Grant Consortium  *Chrissy Sokol, former Assistant Manager / Apollo - Saturn V Center  *Karen Malesky, former President / Florida Association of Science Teachers   *Jay Wittner, President / National Space Society - Southwest Florida Chapter  *George & Don Browning / The Gammons Charitable Foundation  *Dr. Mike Novello, Director / The Private School Consultancy   *Steve McGrath / designer of the X-Prize Eagle for Vanguard Industries and others.